Like Tree0Likes

TX Boaters with USCG Documentation

Reply
Old 10-16-2003, 08:09 AM
  #1
Registered
Thread Starter
 
Jana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Houston, TX
My Boats: 1996 Fountain 29 Fever
Posts: 929
Exclamation TX Boaters with USCG Documentation

Just got this from a fellow Power Squadron member. It seems the state has figured out they can get some money by dinging us documented vessels for registration fees now.

Please be aware of the following changes in the new Water Safety Act Digest:

"Effective January 1, 2004, vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard are no longer exempt from state registration requirements.
Exempted vessels: Documented commercial vessels used in coastal shipping; and documented vessels exceeding 115 feet in length. Documented recreational vessels, shrimp boats and other commercial fishing boats are not exempt from state registration, unless they exceed 115 feet in length.
The (Texas) certificate of number must also be aboard USCG Documented vessels that require Texas registration. USCG Documented Vessels: May display ONLY the Validation Decal (not the Registration Number) on both sides of the bow of the vessel and maintain current USCG Documentation; OR Display the state assigned TX numbers and the Validation Decal."
Jana is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 10:25 AM
  #2
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
My Boats: Cigarette Gladiator
Posts: 543
Default

Pretty standard in most states. In Ohio it's like $60-70 for three years, less than 30 minutes of fuel. Having a state registration sticker keeps (or at least minimizes) the local morons from pulling you over for not having numbers on the boat...
Dano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 08:34 PM
  #3
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tampa,Fl.
My Boats: 2001 26 ZX DONZI 496HO
Posts: 1,124
Default

Thats what Im sweating out now!!! The documentation process takes several months to to get the certificate and they wont issue me a registration without the certificate. So Im dodging the marine units so I don`t have to hassle with the explanation. Everyone has there own interpretation on what the law says about no numbers visable.
Donzi Corleone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 09:35 AM
  #4
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
My Boats: Cigarette Gladiator
Posts: 543
Default

I just have a state registration sticker with a port of call on the transom...no problems. Keep your sales receipt with you and the application for USCG registration. Typically you have 45 days but you can get a letter from the lender stating the application has been filed. Depending on the cop this usually works...
Dano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
nitrousnolan
Poker Runs and Boating Events
1
07-18-2008 05:21 PM
Dude! Sweet!
Pantera
1
04-07-2007 11:03 AM
NJgr8ful
General Boating Discussion
54
06-16-2005 12:24 PM
DJD
General Boating Discussion
3
07-29-2003 04:53 PM
Jamie B.
General Boating Discussion
20
07-16-2002 02:59 PM



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Copyright 2011 OffShoreOnly. All rights reserved.