Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Pulling 45' Sonic with Excusion ,NJ to FL. Any thoughts ? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/64639-pulling-45-sonic-excusion-nj-fl-any-thoughts.html)

boot 11-25-2003 12:19 PM

Pulling 45' Sonic with Excusion ,NJ to FL. Any thoughts ?

I have plenty of experience pulling large things .Just NOT with a Ford Excursion diesel. Anyone tow large heavy boats any distance with one ? Give me some input on your experiences .

Have to go from NJ to Sonic in Florida for repairs .

Also any input on getting repairs done at Sonic and by who ? Thanks , Joe

CigDaze 11-25-2003 12:25 PM

Good luck!

Take your time and slow up if it gets windy. I would REALLY prefer a dually for something that size for more than a 1000 miles. I have no doubt that the truck has the power to pull it, but it'll be a handful.

Caincando1 11-25-2003 12:32 PM

That's a BIG boat! I'm thinking a ton-er would be the way to go.

Sea Ya 11-25-2003 12:43 PM

Practice a panic stop to see what you've got. Take it easy.

Dock Holiday 11-25-2003 12:43 PM

Not enough truck for me!

Neverfastenuf 11-25-2003 12:47 PM

FWIW, I pull a rather heavy travel trailer(15000lbs.) with my Excursion and while it is not as competent a puller as the Super Duties, it does do the job. It is equipped with air bags which are a must, and the trailer has brakes on it. The Excursion, as Troutly stated is shorter which gives it a somewhat "loose" feel. If you HAVE to use the Excursion, just take your time and it will work, although you will have to "drive" it.

boot 11-25-2003 12:48 PM

It belongs to a freind .He wants me to drop the rig there and fly home . Then if it gets fixed , he can use it down there for a few weeks . then I geuss I'll fly down again and bring it home.