Like Tree0Likes

Kill Switch Laws-Who besides Alabama?

Reply
Old 10-02-2004, 06:47 PM
  #1
Charter Member #415
Charter Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Jasper,Alabama
My Boats: 1968 Switzer Shooting Star,1967 Switzer Shooting Star,1963 Glasspar G-3
Posts: 3,357
Default Kill Switch Laws-Who besides Alabama?

Alabama has had a kill switch law for maybe 30 years. No problems,it's a good thing. One our our boat lines(not a performance line) does not install kill switches as standard equipment so we have to do it ourselves or pay them $50 for a $10 switch. I have fussed at them for several years that they are the only builder I know of that doesn't have them as standard. They counter that I am the only dealer that fusses cause only Alabama has a law. I don't think that is true, but regardless,it seems to me that they should install them anyway,every builder I know of does. So what states have the law? And no Alabama jokes,please
Magicfloat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 11:52 PM
  #2
Emerald Coast of Florida
Gold Member
 
Panic Button's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Navarre FL
My Boats: '86 Cigarette Cafe Racer
Posts: 623
Default Re: Kill Switch Laws-Who besides Alabama?

I lived down there for several years and never was checked for the kill switch, granted this was on the Tenn Tom & other lakes up north. The ADW only wanted to check for life jackets and fire extingisher. My boat didn't come with one, but installed it for safety sake.
Panic Button is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 01:27 PM
  #3
Registered
 
fund razor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
My Boats: Apache 28 Brave
Posts: 8,170
Default Re: Kill Switch Laws-Who besides Alabama?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magicfloat
Alabama has had a kill switch law for maybe 30 years. No problems,it's a good thing. One our our boat lines(not a performance line) does not install kill switches as standard equipment so we have to do it ourselves or pay them $50 for a $10 switch. I have fussed at them for several years that they are the only builder I know of that doesn't have them as standard. They counter that I am the only dealer that fusses cause only Alabama has a law. I don't think that is true, but regardless,it seems to me that they should install them anyway,every builder I know of does. So what states have the law? And no Alabama jokes,please
Maybe I am a B*st*rd, but I would put in the $10 switch, and charge $50 bucks more for the boat. Maybe $100, especially if you have to drill a hole to mount it. Then you can buy two rounds of golf on the Robert Trent Jones for each boat that you sell.
fund razor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Fenderjack
General Q & A
0
08-30-2007 04:25 PM
BLAZE
Boating Safety
1
07-10-2007 10:56 AM
Hang Time 27
General Boating Discussion
24
12-29-2003 11:10 PM
dyno
General Boating Discussion
4
07-25-2002 08:14 AM
sheikman
General Q & A
1
05-27-2002 10:45 AM



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Copyright 2011 OffShoreOnly. All rights reserved.