Winter Project >

Winter Project

Notices

Winter Project

Old 12-18-2005, 04:24 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Winter Project

Hello and Happy Holidays to all on OSO.I have started my winter project this weekend and have a few question for you guys.Let me bring you up to speed.During this past summer I traded my 22' Nordic Sprint in on a 32' Fountain Fever with twin 502s.The previous owner is a member of OSO and turned me on to the site when I purchased the boat from him.I have since been sitting back and learning from all your questions and answers.I am a construction project manager and have never done and major work on boats before except maintenance issues.The previous owner did a major upgrade to the look of the boat and now I want to do the mechanicals.So here are my questions so far,two days into this hole I'm digging.

1) the port engine did not have a belt on the power steering pump and I was told It is just a reservoir for the starboard pump.Now with engines out I see the hoses are just looped thru the cooler and back to itself.Is this common?And if so can I just remove the pump and hoses to clean up the engine compartment?

2) I'm trying to remove the transoms from the boat to rebuild them.I have removed all bolts and the inner plate has come off but the transom feels like it is glued in place.How do I remove it without breaking anything?It has never been off before and I dont know how the factory sealed them.

3)There is a complete hydraulic steering system and some times when I'm docking the steering becomes hard and then frees up.What would cause this,could it be a clogged filter?

4) Top hose of sea water pump is the suction or pressure side?I have one generation 4 and one gen. 5 motor in this boat.One pump was plumbed one way and the other the opposite.I would think they should be the same,and how could this even be working if it is backwards?