Chine walk question >

Chine walk question

Notices

Chine walk question

Old 03-20-2006, 05:18 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chine walk question

I just added 800 HP to my 27' Cobra V bottom. I am seeing a little chine walk at about 80 mph 4200 rpm. I have a lot of power left but I keep backing out when i feel a little chine walk. My question is how much chine walk is ok before i back out? I have trim tabs and full hyd steering. I have been driving boats for 15 years but never a V bottom over 80 mph. Can a 27' V bottom do over 90 mph without chine walk?Thanks for the advice.
Old 03-20-2006, 05:34 PM
LarryD

Default Re: Chine walk question

at over 80 in a 27 you are going to get alittle chine walk as long as it stays gentle just drive through it however there are a few things that help you mentioned that you have tabs if they are not already put the long ones ( mercury or =) but the long 30 inch ones don't bury the tabs but run them about parallel or up alittle ( in flat water) also what prop do you run ? you can have the trailing edge eased to settle the stern talk to matt at throttle up he can help. where are your tabs mounted?
at some speed all v's will tend to start chining
good luck
Larry svl #51 wild ride

Old 03-20-2006, 05:36 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 814 Likes on 373 Posts