Putting an engine back in a boat.... >

Putting an engine back in a boat....

Notices

Putting an engine back in a boat....

Old 06-22-2006, 02:54 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Putting an engine back in a boat....

I could use a lil' help on this one.

1996 29 scarab
509cid Whpple motor
Bravo 1
Steelings extension box

I know theres quite a lot of do it yourselfers due to mechanic costs. I know 388 and some other guys who had threads on rebuilding and installing their motors.

I posted last week about a mechanic screwing me over and I'm working on getting all my stuff back from the marine mechanic. I've had enough with marine mechanics B.S. to last me a life time. I'm going to install my engine and outdrive over the 4th of July weekend. I've never done it before.

I wasn't there when he took it out or when he took all the accessories, bellhousing, engine coupler, exhaust, engine mounts etc off the engine. I am very mechanically inclined and use to build big blocks and race cars back in the day. I think I have enough savvy to do it.

Is this job that complicated once you get the engine complete with everything back on it? I mean, from the looks except for wiring ,fuel and exhaust it looks like you basically drop it in and line the motor mounts up. I'm not sure about what has to be lined up behind the engine with the inner transom plate, drive shaft and other things.

I have access to a fork lift and tools to install it. I was also told with the extension box the mechanic was going to go back with solid mounts because alignment would be easier.

Some serious input from you guys would greatly appreciated

Thanks@!
Shawn
Old 06-22-2006, 04:05 PM
Emerald Coast of Florida
Gold Member

Default Re: Putting an engine back in a boat....