Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
New to EFI, wont start, no spark. >

New to EFI, wont start, no spark.

Notices

New to EFI, wont start, no spark.

Old 06-23-2007, 11:45 AM
Registered

Received 34 Likes on 22 Posts
Default New to EFI, wont start, no spark.

I have a 1996 502 Mag with MEFI1 that wont start. Ran perfectly a week ago and all season fine so far. I am new to EFI. No codes, just 1,2 over and over. No spark also. I dont even know where to start? No points, no condensor, Im lost......Please advice anyone. Doing lots of searching as well. No spark. Thanks very much.
Old 06-23-2007, 12:12 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Check (wiggle) the connectors around the distibutor and coil. Check cap and rotor, check for 12V to distributor when ignition is on.

Have you conformed no spark with a timing light?
Old 06-23-2007, 12:29 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can also check the 50 AMP circuit breaker. I may need to be reset. Another place to look is the 50 AMP circuit breaker connections. A loose connection there will prevent it from lighting up.
Old 06-23-2007, 12:36 PM
Registered

50 amp is ok as are connections, coil and dist connections look good. Rotor next. No spark anyway.
Old 06-23-2007, 12:59 PM
Registered

Check the lanyard and make sure the kill switch is in the run position. Can't tell you how many times I have seen this, the most basic thing overlooked.
Old 06-23-2007, 05:25 PM
Registered
VIP Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by phebus
Check the lanyard and make sure the kill switch is in the run position. Can't tell you how many times I have seen this, the most basic thing overlooked.
YES! Check both sides of the kill switch with a 12V test light.

If it is all right, the pick-up in the distributor is probably the culprit. Most of my friends carry a spare one. All you need to change it is a 3/8" wrench and a phillips screwdriver.

Good Luck and keep us posted.
Old 06-24-2007, 01:51 AM