Water Pump type comparison?

Notices

Water Pump type comparison?

Old 09-28-2008, 01:23 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Water Pump type comparison?

Okay, so I 'm at it again...

I'm new to the whole offshore scene and I feel the need to learn as much as I can before I spend money on things and wind up with the wrong parts. (like my rect port inlet manifold for my oval port heads!)

I'm trying to figure out the best way to keep my engine cool and why.

I notice most people seem to run a bypass and a circulation pump to push water from the drive pick-up through the engine then out via the exhaust or a variation on that theme. Some other people seem to be running a standard marine water pump instead of the bypass and then there are those running cam-driven water pumps like on most v-drives.

Which is the best option for a Gen VI 454 running around 500hp in a Stinger 222? Why? What bits do I need?

My Sanger v-drive runs a cam driven Neovane from the pick-up on the cav plate and that seems to do the job just fine for almost any hp in any v-drive set up I've seen. So why the different set-ups for offshore? (I'm not taking the piss, I really don't know!)

I have a Jabsco raw-water pump from a previous project I want to use but I don't know what's best.

Does anyone have a flow diagram for a 454 with a bypass and wet exhaust?

Sorry if this question has been asked a million times before, I tried searching but all I could find was a 350 diagram and lengthy arguments about thermostats...

Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated!

PS: Anyone want a Performer RPM Air-Gap for a BBC? (rectangle port of course!)
Old 09-28-2008, 09:42 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The Mercruiser-style block-mount pump, drawing water from a transom pickup and through a sea strainer is the best, most reliable, most efficient way of sooling your engine. Running a bypass with a thermostat gives you the reliability and the temperature control you need.