Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Q & A (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q-20/)
-   -   Prop slip concerns (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-q/201769-prop-slip-concerns.html)

CB-BLR 01-19-2009 03:04 PM

Prop slip concerns

1 Attachment(s)
I was not getting any response over in the prop forum, so I decided to post here as well.

I am now worried about the durability of my IMCO SC drive.

I have an 09 Nordic Heat with a 600sci that I have been doing prop and spacer testing for the last 6 months. Below is the table of my results. These are real slip numbers. Tach has been verified with a digital tach, and speeds with my analog GPS, my digital GPS and a radar gun.

The current best prop is a Hering 26 pitch, 5 blade bravo style prop. Slip is coming in at 5.2%

Mine is not the only Nordic Heat to post such low slip numbers. The Illmore 700 Heat regularly posts numbers between 6%-8% with the same drive and hull.

For you doubters:
Prop= 26 pitch Hering 5 blade bravo style prop
Speed= 83.8 mph
RPM= 5400rpm -- On the rev limiter

I am about to upgrade my 600hp motor to aproximately 750+hp using some upgrades offered by Whipple for my motor.

What I am worried about is that 750+hp and 5.2% slip on a 28 foot boat, sounds like a recipe for a broken drive.

What do you think??
Should I switch back to a 4 blade prop for reliability sake?
How much horsepower is safe in front of the IMCO SC drive?

I would like to hear some opinions.

Chris

Payton 01-19-2009 04:33 PM

I'm far from an expert, so I won't comment on what you need. But I think it would be intresting to try the 26 Herring and no spacer. Let the extra blades help carry the bow instead of a deeper drive.

throttleup 01-19-2009 04:51 PM

Agreed you should loosen her up a bit.

What motor is it that you have now...or can you tell me at what RPM the peak HP is produced and at what RPM the peak torque is produced?