Exhaust Manifold Problems? >

Exhaust Manifold Problems?

Notices

Exhaust Manifold Problems?

Old 04-08-2002, 08:06 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Manifold Problems?

Sorry for the long post, but I'm new to the performance boat arena. My last boat was a 26 foot cruiser.

I just purchased 1 1997 31' Scarab with twin 502 Mag MPI's. I took it out for a test run yesterday and here are the results.

Once I launched the boat, both motors started perfectly and ran very smooth. I ran at idle or just above for about 15-20 minutes and all gauges looked good on both motors. Once I came on plane, the boat seemed to run nicely. I was running about 5000 RPMs on each engine with just a tiny bit of throttle left. After running for about 5-10 minutes, the starboard engine alarm sounded. At first, I thought that I may have been overheating because it was at a temp of about 180. so I shut it down right away. Port engine was running fine.

I returned home at idle with 1 motor while the other cooled. I immediately checked the raw water pump impeller and it was fine (I just installed it last week). I also replaced the thermostat as a precaution. When I went to start it again, I had difficulty turning it over. When it did turn over, it idled fine but at about 1200 rpms it had a knock and the rpms would fluctuate from 1200 to about 1500 on their own. As a precaution, I started the port (good) engine. didn't have difficulty turning it over, but it cranked for a long time before starting.

I had to return the boat to the ramp about 3 miles away, so I ran slowly back on both engines. I had a hard time running that boat on just one engine. Is this normal? I coultdn't even think of getting on plane with one engine running, the prop just slipped while hardly even moving the boat if I ran only 1 motor.