winterizing a 500 efi >

winterizing a 500 efi

Notices

winterizing a 500 efi

Old 11-14-2009, 01:03 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winterizing a 500 efi

This is my first year winterizing this boat. My other boats had a block drain plug on both sides of the motor however these motors, 500efi's, have a plug only on one side. The other side has a hose plummed into the block about the same area as the side containing the plug. These hoses/lines (about 5/8") appear to be long enough to reach the helm area but are coiled up in the bottom of the engine compartment. The ends are unplugged so I'm not sure as to what purpose they serve. Is anybody familiar with this setup?

PS. The boat was ordered from the factory all set up for blowers just in case somebody wanted to install them (boost gages are installed in the dash). Could these hoses/lines have something to do with this?
Old 11-14-2009, 02:12 PM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

The block drains are in the same place. I suspect the hose is connected to block drain and there is a valve you can turn somewhere close to the block to let the water out. You could also just remove the hose and fitting on the block. It should have nothing to do with being prepped for a blower engine.

Last edited by Griff; 11-14-2009 at 02:14 PM.
Old 11-14-2009, 04:35 PM
Registered

Most Hustler's have mechanical water pressure gauges installed in the dash. More than likely you are seeing the hoses for these. My guess is someone replaced the water pressure gauges with boost gauges.
Steve
Old 11-15-2009, 12:14 PM
Registered