700HP Blower vs. NA >

700HP Blower vs. NA

Notices

700HP Blower vs. NA

Old 01-17-2011, 06:28 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 700HP Blower vs. NA

If one was on a budget and needed 700HP for a marine engine powering a single engine cat would you go blower or NA? I'm not an engine expert but know just enough to be dangerously wrong. In theory the blower motors have more moving parts (more stuff to go wrong) and put more undo pressure on the valve train, rings, etc. However I had a car with a blower installed by Roush drove the **** out of it (tracked it) and it ran great all the time. I also fell in love with the noise from the blower under boost. However I don't want to have a boat that doesn't run right half of the time and needs a rebuild every season. I'm just looking for general thoughts and opinions. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-17-2011, 07:36 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post

Stay away from blowers on boats !! I am not saying that for the usual reasons..... I had a driver with a blower and drove it for 100,000 miles before I sold it with no problems.. I also have Lotus Turbo Esprit and no problems what so ever.
The problem that arises is the fact that very few people know how to work or better yet tune a marine engine with a blower.
The fact that most engines these days have an ECM or are computer controlled makes them very difficult to tune properly.
and very few people know how to do that!!!! You can look at this web site as an example of all the horror stories when someone tries to put a blower on a boat...Lunch time for the engine ! or a very expensive rebuild.

I am sure I am going to catch a lot of flack over those comments - but thats the way I feel.... If you still want to do it find a company that really know their business and once installed dont get greedy or go crazy expecting miracles from your engines... With great power comes great pressure -- on the engines !!!!

Good luck

Jim
Old 01-17-2011, 08:42 PM
Registered