Speedmaster 3 Oil Leak >

Speedmaster 3 Oil Leak

Notices

Speedmaster 3 Oil Leak

Old 09-21-2011, 05:38 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speedmaster 3 Oil Leak

Im not getting many responses in the drives forum so I posted this here to see if there is any feedback on my problem. I have a Speedmaster 3 sterndrive that is requiring me to add oil to the stern mounted reservoir, about 1/4 - 1/2 qt., each time I go out on the water. It is not leaking the oil while sitting there on the trailer as there is no oil on the ground after sitting for a week. But it does appear that the oil is leaking in the bilge. I have searched on here but no one has discussed SSM III oil leaks. Here is the link that has the parts..

http://www.mercruiserparts.com/Show_...Y%28III+SSM%29

Im hoping someone can tell me which part # it is that is causing the leak. I just ordered a service manual. Thanks in advance for any replies that can aid me in servicing this drive.
Old 09-21-2011, 06:29 PM
RIPSTA Racing Team
VIP Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't think there's anyone that can look at a diagram and tell you what is leaking. Your going to have to clean out all the oil from the bilge and run it on the hose while watching for the leak. Please remove the props before spinning the drives on the hose, or pay to have someone diagnose the problem. I'm guessing that your not going to be able to fix it yourself anyway. More than likely its a seal requiring the drive to be removed and taken apart to some extent almost always requiring special tools.
Old 09-21-2011, 06:30 PM
RIPSTA Racing Team
VIP Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

PS, your link is no good
Old 09-21-2011, 08:00 PM
Registered

Received 24 Likes on 15 Posts

Did you read my response to your first post????

http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/d...-oil-leak.html

IT IS NOT A RESERVOIR BOTTLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It's a puke tank.

I also provided instructions on how to check the level. Read that manual when you get it.