496 mag running issues >

496 mag running issues

Notices

496 mag running issues

Old 02-27-2012, 06:07 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 496 mag running issues

hey everyone new to the forum here. i have a 2006 496 mag and last season i starting having a problem with it. before the season started i did a gimbal bearing seals ect in the drive, oil change, the two fuel filters in the cool fuel gen module and checked everything else. the boat ran fine for the first 5-6 trips after that my alarm was going off if the boat would go over 3000 rpm. i would have to power all the way down to idle then i would be able to take off again. it runs fine under 3000 rmp. it feels like i loose fuel pressure and it just shuts down. i just got the boat back home and checked the fuel pressure. cycled the key 3 times to get maximum pressure and the gauge reads 45psi, at idle its at 37psi. could my problem be the high pressure fuel pump in the fuel pump? any help would be appreciated thanks. bryan
Old 02-27-2012, 06:13 PM
Registered

Received 607 Likes on 275 Posts

Maybe overheating alarm? Did you suck up some crap and clog the heat exchanger?
Old 02-27-2012, 06:32 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by thirdchildhood
Maybe overheating alarm? Did you suck up some crap and clog the heat exchanger?
i havent checked that yet i just got it home and the first thing i checked was the fuel pressure. ill take a look at that and make sure its not clogged.
Old 02-27-2012, 06:32 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

When the alarm goes off what type of beep is it? Do you notice the engine breaking up or the tach fluttering? Have you plugged into the ECM to read the codes? I have a few thoughts but need some more info. I have ALOT of experience with this motor, and tracking down a gremlin...Let me know.
Old 02-27-2012, 07:09 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by downtime270