Merc 260 bolt ons? >

Merc 260 bolt ons?

Notices

Merc 260 bolt ons?

Old 08-07-2012, 05:46 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Merc 260 bolt ons?

I'm sure this question has been asked to death, but I gotta do it anyway because I'm a gearhead and I like to tinker with my stuff.

Is there anything to be gained by using "bolt on" performance parts for an 84 Merc 260? For instance, upgrading from a 3 inch riser/manifold combo to a 4, maybe installing some 1.6 roller rockers to give the stock cam more lift, or a freer flowing flame arrestor? I have noticed that most boaters either leave their boats with a stock engine or build something rediculous, not too much in the way of bolt ons, I'm wondering why that is? I really think that a couple more hp are available from this, but I'm a newbie so I could be wrong.

Any replies are appreciated, and yes I am the same idiot that asked about supercharging it last week lol.
Old 08-07-2012, 06:09 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

vortec heads,rpm airgap intake holly 650 dp and a xtreme marine by comp cams..you eill be around 330 hp..
Old 08-07-2012, 06:49 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I changed the heads on mine to World Products, added the magnum iron high rise, rejetted the Quadrajet, magnum flame arrestor, added a Crane Cam, and roller rockers. I had to go 2" up on the prop pitch. Gained 4-5 m.p.h. If you are fresh water cooled I would go with aluminum heads and intake. You will probably save 100 pounds alone! I used 76cc heads as I was afraid of having too much compression and having to use 89 or 92 grade gas. As it was 1986 when I did my build I know I could get a lot more power today. I'd go to a 383 cu. in. setup with aluminum heads and intake, and a roller hydraulic cam. I would think you could make an easy 380-400 h.p. Enough to break your drive!
Old 08-07-2012, 07:43 PM
GPM
Registered

Received 80 Likes on 58 Posts

Cast crank, cast pistons, make it a winter project and do a 383.