Notices

New member discussing helmets/head wear

Old 03-19-2013, 04:05 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb New member discussing helmets/head wear

Hello all,

First a quick little intro:

I am a senior design student working on his last big project. This last project is the capstone of our student career and will be exhibiting it near the end of the semester for all to see.
The whole thing is self guided, and we choose our own topic.
I plan to design a helmet for power sports racing with integrated communication, and assisted flotation.

I have done a fair amount of research regarding boat safety, pfds, and pages of statistics via the United States Coast Guard.
So far I have looked looked mainly at pwc racing and regulations via the IJSBA. But throughout my research there seemed to be only one company that has designed a helmet specifically for pwcs, Jettribe.

Unlike recreational boating, I understand that racing conditions require the wear of safety equipment and while my focus was being guided that way, I found it much more relevant in this area.

From what I've gathered some areas of concern are:
- weight
- comfort
- break away visor
- water-logging inside helmet

And I plan to add in:
• communication
• assisted flotation
• possible monitoring tech. if rider becomes unconscious

Any thoughts/ideas on the topic of helmets/communication/flotation are welcomed
Old 03-19-2013, 08:03 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Make helmets and or communication systems on offshore power boats cost less so the "working man" can afford it. Communication systems that are now in use in offshore powerboats are basically small Airplane communications systems, and they want 2-4K for a system. Electronics are not expensive anymore, figure out how to make a more cost effective communication system before I do! (I'm old so I might beat you to the challenge) I am already trying stuff.
Old 03-19-2013, 10:48 PM
Registered

Received 121 Likes on 39 Posts