driving a boat question

Notices

driving a boat question

Old 05-05-2013, 11:31 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default driving a boat question

i am a pilot and i have a donzi 26 zx. wnen a plane turns the wing that goes up has the aileron go down, and the wing that goes down has the aileron go up, and you keep the turn trimmed with the rudder.
do i want to do the same with the trim tabs
and what about the drive,
keep it up thru the turn or trim it down?
Old 05-06-2013, 01:14 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Trim tabs are not turning devices, IMO they should only be used to A. help get on plane. B. help to level out the boat if heavy on one side. C. help smooth out the ride in rough water. They will bury the bow & lift the stern which can be dangerous in a stepped hull. Same with lowering the drive. I would test drive from a slower speed & find what the boat likes. This is my opinion from my experience & I have not had any major problems except partially spinning out 1 time with a new to me boat hence step bottom. It only took once to learn that lesson. Randy
Old 05-06-2013, 07:00 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 138 Likes on 83 Posts

Here's the skinny.
Your boat will lean automatically when it turns.

You can do all sorts of weird stuff with tabs if you are into party tricks, but you need to get some experience playing around with them first.

As has been stated, if your hull has ventilation steps, you can spin your boat out unexpectedly and it's not a joyride when it happens. People have died from it.

With a non-stepped vee hull, you trim the nose up for speed, you trim the nose down for carving a corner. Rough water, boat load, and a zillion other factors affect that, but you get the drift.

With a step hull, overtrimming can cause you to slow down, while undertrimming can bury the nose in a corner and the ventilated stern can skate around in a circle like it's on ball bearings.