Boat loads difficult on trailer >

Boat loads difficult on trailer

Notices

Boat loads difficult on trailer

Old 01-24-2014, 10:50 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boat loads difficult on trailer

I have a 27' Signature on what I would say is a nice custom trailer. It has 4 bunks. The problem I have is that the eyelet for the winch is higher on the bow and it seems like when I back it in the water the nose wants to drop then catches the front v-stop thus making me have to go exhaust deep and get out and push the nose up and off from the stop. The bunks go about 2/3rds of the way up. I am new to boating but something isnt clicking. Trailer sits almost level, should I drop the ball height down. Any help would be great I would like to make some changes so that next year its easier and faster at the ramp. Thanks Bman
Old 01-24-2014, 12:35 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 35 Likes on 17 Posts

Could be a couple things that need adjustment. Front of the front bunks raised a little bit, and/or winch v-stop down a little bit. Try and get some pics of boat sitting on front bunks and also pics of winch v-stop, so we could see how much adjustment that may be needed on these items.

Do not adjust ball height if you are level.
Old 01-24-2014, 12:53 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,250 Likes on 543 Posts

Take a look at this thread:
http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/g...i-can-get.html

IMHO, 4 bunks is not enough. A picture of your trailer would help. Do you have forward bunks that support the front of the hull in V-formation?

The more forward and higher your forward V-bunks, the better the boat will load.
Here are some pictures of how to improve a trailer:
http://www.thehulltruth.com/trucks-t...bunks-2.html#b
Old 01-24-2014, 01:07 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts