454 Gen 6 Engine Cam Question >

454 Gen 6 Engine Cam Question

Notices

454 Gen 6 Engine Cam Question

Old 01-13-2015, 10:48 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 454 Gen 6 Engine Cam Question

Hello, I'm new to being a member here but not new to gathering info here. Question, I have a 454 Gen 6 from a 1997 Scarab 22 that I'm rebuilding. I have Vortec heads and a stock cam. I'm interested in the Comp Cams XM270HR cam and have read about other mods to do as in intake, valve springs/retainers, carburetor etc. What I need to know is on the Comp Cams website for that cam P/N 01-445-8, on the spec sheet says that the "Heads need to be machined. Question; what on the heads need machined. I'm thinking valve spring seats but the ones I ordered are supposed to fit the Vortec heads. I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!!
Old 01-13-2015, 11:49 AM
Registered

Location: Omaha, Nebraska. Boat on the Mighty Mo! Longest river in the USA!
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts

Probably valve guides and springs for increased lift.
Old 01-13-2015, 11:50 AM
Banned
Platinum Member

The valve guide runners need to be machined down for extra clearance. Anything 500-510 I can't remember which. Competition products sells a tool to do this. Can be done using a drill. Assuming you have the 454 non mag 310hp version. I had hat same motor rebuilt for my boat a few years ago keeping everthing stock and reusing the fuel injection system. Long story short that was a huge waste of time money. Loose the efi and go carbed. You pick up a few mph by just doing that alone even without the cam. The intake is doesn't flow enough make decent power. Read somewhere that even Tyler crocket couldn't more than 375hp. Install some good valves while you at it.
Old 01-13-2015, 01:17 PM
Registered