US gasoline power beginner questions >

US gasoline power beginner questions

Notices

US gasoline power beginner questions

Old 09-24-2016, 07:44 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default US gasoline power beginner questions

Ok, this is going to sound stupid but I'm a total beginner in American petrol engine power. (I've just bought a race boat in the UK with Chief 502s by way of explanation, and I previously used diesels). Here goes:
American V8s seem to be mainly referred to by the cubic inch capacity; 502/540/572 etc.
Does this denote different manufacturers? Is one size a Chevrolet, another a GMC etc?
Do they all have the same mounting points/brackets etc?
Can you pull out a 502 and just drop in a 540?
Will all engines fit all drives? (I have 502s at 575 hp driving via Mercury ssm3a(uprated). My engines are dead so if I buy a pair of 540s will they drop in the same hole?
I'm sure I'll have more questions but thanks in advance for answers to my initial 'global overview' questions above.
Old 09-24-2016, 08:22 AM
Registered

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts