496 ho knock sensor fault >

496 ho knock sensor fault

Notices

496 ho knock sensor fault

Old 05-23-2017, 08:56 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 496 ho knock sensor fault

So I have been chasing an issue ever since I cooked an IAC a couple months ago. After replacing the IAC, pig tail, and having whipple repair the pcm I now have fault codes for knk sensors 1 and 2.

This only occurs when the RPM goes over approximately 2k I get the 2 alarm beep and it throws codes for both sensors, this of course limits power to 90% (it can idle all day with no issues). The engine sounds great and I have checked for any lose accessories etc, also replaced spark plugs. The boat still runs great (except when you get up to the 90% power limit 4,600 rpm) Oil pressure is around 50 at idle. I really don't think it is an internal motor issue based on how well it sounds and runs.

Has anyone else ran into this issue and is their something that I should be checking. I'm open to any and all ideas at this point!
Old 05-24-2017, 01:09 PM
Registered

Received 121 Likes on 82 Posts

Is it throwing a Knock Sensor Hi or Lo code? Merc states acceptable ranges for the sensors are 83,000-104,000 at idle. An open in the circuit is 7,900-12,000. A short is 3,800-5,100. Sadly the 555 FSM does not specify what measurements these are.
Old 05-24-2017, 01:46 PM
Registered

It doesn't state high or low just fault
Old 05-24-2017, 05:30 PM
Registered

Received 471 Likes on 367 Posts

I'm going to step out on a short limb because I have not does as much research on the 555 as I've done with the MEFI-3. That said you could be getting a code 44, which means it cannot detect the knock sensor.