Another oil temp thread >

Another oil temp thread

Notices

Another oil temp thread

Old 09-15-2017, 11:11 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another oil temp thread

After a 10 minute hard run my oil temp creeps up to 250. Goes right back down to 150 ish at idle.

My motor is a 509 recently rebuilt with 10 hrs on it. Motor runs great.

Water flow is good. Oil cooler is clean. Water temp is 125 with a 140 thermostat

oil psi is 75-80psi at higher rpms. 50-60 at idle. Oil temp is taken at the filter before the cooler. Running vr1 20/50 oil. Wix racing filter 51061 Gen 4 block oil by pass is plugged. 11 qt oil pan.

if anything the motor is running rich. (Soot on transom and plugs are dark black). Timing is 34 degrees all in.

im not a mechanic and going back to builder is not an option. Where should i start or should i do anything? Im gonna use my temp gun tomorrow to verify the actual readings. Other then oil temp the motor runs like a raped ape.

Last edited by cabin fever; 09-15-2017 at 11:16 AM.
Old 09-15-2017, 12:58 PM
SB
Registered

Received 3,110 Likes on 1,401 Posts

250 measured before the cooler is fine, unless you are going to run it harder and get more oil temp than that.
Old 09-15-2017, 01:02 PM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts