Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Turbine powered eliminator (project) >

Turbine powered eliminator (project)

Notices

Turbine powered eliminator (project)

Old 12-13-2002, 10:42 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbine powered eliminator (project)

Since it's so dead in here. Let me pass this by you guys.
I would like to build a turbine powered boat, but I have no hans on experience with turbines. So I'm considering a small turbine project boat to get a little experience.

Boat; 21' eliminator daytona, center pod, cat. (I used to have one of these with a 300hp Evinrude, ran 97mph.) There's one for sale on Trader Online for around $7K, no power.

Turbine; Allison T63-A-700, about 300hp, includes reduction gearbox to 6000 rpm. Can be purchased for $12K, w/ guages, stand, starter, all accessories. Better deals are also available, but some assembly required.

Drive; Inline ASD6, got it already.

Installation: Exhaust aft, intake forward. Gearbox output comes out of the intake (front) of the engine. A hydraulic brake can be fabricted or purchased to go on the output flange. This will stop the power turbine for shifting.
Fabricate a drop box with a cogged pully (like a blower pulley) connected to the turbine output. This drives another pulley below the turbine by using a drive belt (similar to "Flash Gordons" drive setup). There will be a 1.5:1 reduction with the pulleys.
The lower pulley is connected to a crash box (already got one) for shifting. The crash box will be mounted under the turbine with the output pointed aft. A drive shaft connects the crashbox output to the ASD6. A carrier bearing will have to be fabricated for this.
Oil tank, batteries, etc. can be mounted in the back in either sponson.
It's either this project or rerig a 31 Excalibur cat that I can get for a song.
What do you think?

Gary
Old 12-13-2002, 11:08 AM
Charter Member #1093
Charter Member

Gary,