OBD II Sofware >

OBD II Sofware

Notices

OBD II Sofware

Old 01-07-2004, 03:19 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OBD II Sofware

I am looking for the software & the cable you use to connect your lap top to cars or trucks to find out what is wrong with them.
Has anyone tried them & had good luck with it.
Old 01-07-2004, 06:22 PM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member

I have been an auto mechanic for too many years to admit to. I use scanners for repair everyday. I have never seen a laptap used to diagnose cars. I have seen them for Diesel trucks, but not cars. I use a Tech II for G.M., a D.R.B. III for Chrysler, Next Generation Star tester for Fords. But, if you want one that does pretty well for all brands, go with the Snap-On MT 2500. You can't beat it for the price.
Old 01-07-2004, 08:20 PM
Charter Member #818
Charter Member

OTC makes a scan module for a PDA. It costs about $350. Mac Tools has a nice Global OBDII tester for $420. A full function scanner will cost at least $2500. If you find a used one check into the cost of updating it. Factor that into the price to see if it is a good deal. The updates for the Snap-on testers are not cheap. Good Luck.
Old 01-08-2004, 06:46 AM
Registered

Turbojack,

What is your purpose? Do you want to scan for codes, or do you want to alter the computer's programming. For which make and model.

Most cars will tell you the codes automatically without any tools. Some by flashing a check engine light, others will spell it accross an LCD on the dash.

If you want to change the programming, you will need a computer. However, some cars require you to burn a new chip with every change. Others allow you to make changes on the fly. It all depends. LS1 Edit is a software package that works great for GM vehicles.

Steve
Old 01-08-2004, 07:55 AM
Registered