Transom Assy Removal >

Transom Assy Removal

Notices

Transom Assy Removal

Old 01-12-2004, 04:21 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transom Assy Removal

Ok, this is my first time. Drives are Bravo's. Boat has drive shafts, so once they are removed, what steps do I take? Any tricks or special tools?
Same for installation.

thanks
Shawn
Old 01-12-2004, 04:38 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking Transom

Shawn,
If you have drive shafts in your boat you should be able to remove the shafts and leave the engines in, correct? If thats the case you should remove the drives first, then the driveshafts. Once thats done disconnect the trim hoses from the trim pumps and the shift cables from the engines or remote shift brackets. Next will be the Mercathode wires from the blue Mercathode boxes on the engines. Third should be the drive resevoir bottles.Once all those are done, the only thing left should be to remove the 8 bolts on the inside of the transom. Then it should be loose, the sealer might hold it but it should come off.Before you try to remove the assembly take the inner plate off and set it aside.
If you have any questions or need any info feel free to call me or email me.

GOOD LUCK !!!
Pwrbt33- John S.
Offshore Performance
1-877-GOFAST1
Old 01-12-2004, 05:07 PM
Official OSO boat whore
Charter Member

Yea, the engines also have to come out. The inner transom plate is used as a oversized washer for the assembly. It also serves as the rear motor mount.
Old 01-12-2004, 05:59 PM
Gone Fishin'
Charter Member

The inner plate can be removed without yanking the engine. I've done it, Ragtop409 has done it, Tinkerboater has done it. If you wanna know how, shoot me a private message.

When you say drive shafts, do you mean that your motors are stagered or are forward in the boat requiring a jack shaft of some kind? If this is true, removing the transom plate is easy.
Old 01-13-2004, 10:19 AM
Registered