Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
OK, one more question >

OK, one more question

Notices

OK, one more question

Old 01-31-2002, 04:22 PM
NVRENOUGH

Post OK, one more question

SO i have pretty much decided to whipple my motor and run it till it blows, then replace it with something stronger. one qestion about the thru-hull pick up. can someone explain how they flow more water at idle and low speed. This shows how new to this I am. but i just can`t figure it out
thanks a lot
Jason

Old 01-31-2002, 04:36 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hay dude good question I would like to know that one also since Im new to this game, anybody out that can help us. Thanks Tahoe
Old 01-31-2002, 05:01 PM
Registered

When I added my Whipple, I had a nose-cone and a low-water pickup installed on my Bravo 3.

Check out the pictures
Old 01-31-2002, 05:11 PM
VIP Member

Clay,
I know you always say "it's a Crownline" but I must say that is a great lookin' boat.
Old 01-31-2002, 07:00 PM
Registered

Originally posted by NVRENOUGH:
<STRONG>one qestion about the thru-hull pick up. can someone explain how they flow more water at idle and low speed.
Jason</STRONG>
Are you talking about a through hull pick-up for the engine cooling, intercooler flow or what? I just installed two through hulls on my boat,one for the motor and one for the intercooler.

Craig
Old 01-31-2002, 07:29 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
O.K. Let's try this. When a boat is moving through the water a low pressure area forms all around the hull. This has to do with fluid dynamics and movement across the hull. If you are moving slow the pressure drop is non-existant so you have water pressure pushing in on the through hull. When you start moving the pressure drops and can actually form a vacuum at the through hull-depending on how it's shaped. OTOH if you have a little scoop on it and it's facing forward you can force water pressure up and help the pumps out.