Notices

detonation

Old 05-07-2004, 11:24 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy detonation

My engine is getting some moderate detonation around 4200rpm. I had a nasty tank of gas that I ran out and I changed the water seperator when I refueled. I put some fuel treatment in and octane boost but every time I get up over that 4000-4200 rpm range I get a ping and have to back off. The engine is a 502mpi with some modifications but no blower. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate them. I don't have to run wot all the time but it would be nice to know I could. Thanks in advance.
Old 05-07-2004, 07:24 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There are some really experienced folks here on the board but some times it take a little while. I am no expert on fuel injection but we need more info to help.

Do you know what your fuel pressure is running.
Do you know what your total ignition timing is running.
You mentioned modifications, exactly what was done.
What compression ratio - cam - exhaust are you running?
Water temperature and pressure would be nice to know also.

Electronic Fuel injection is great but for engine modifications it can be tricky but possible. Like I said need more input before much can be recommended.
Old 05-07-2004, 07:30 PM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member

If the motors didn't detonate before this bad tank of gas, chances are things will return to normal after this tank of fuel is used up. If you are confident that the fuel is bad, just use it up at a nominal speed and rpm, run it down low then fill up with fresh good fuel. Change the filters and give it a run.. Hopefully things will return to normal.
Old 05-07-2004, 09:20 PM
Registered