My starboard tach is all over the dial >

My starboard tach is all over the dial

Notices

My starboard tach is all over the dial

Old 06-10-2004, 10:51 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry My starboard tach is all over the dial

My buddy just recieved an 1998 Fountain Fever, he ran it to Catalina this last weekend and says his port motor tachometer is all over the place. He thinks he needs to buy a new one, I think he has a loose or corroded wire, what do you guys think?

What should we look for prior to buying a new tach, other than connecting the working tach to the tach in question?

Thanks OSO brothers.
Old 06-10-2004, 11:03 AM
Registered

Default Re: My starboard tach is all over the dial

Best guess would be a bad ground but i'm not an expert and this post was purely to get my 300th post in.
Old 06-10-2004, 11:17 AM
Registered

Ignition secondary problems (cracked/arcing wires, cap etc) can cause this. Worth checking before buying $100 tach. Hook a new tach to the coil or switch the tan tach lead wires at the dash.
Gary
Old 06-10-2004, 11:35 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by Gary Anderson
Ignition secondary problems (cracked/arcing wires, cap etc) can cause this. Worth checking before buying $100 tach. Hook a new tach to the coil or switch the tan tach lead wires at the dash.
Gary

He said the boat ran fine, and it did not seem to be missing, but I will have him check the cap.

thanks
Old 06-11-2004, 11:06 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 133 Likes on 82 Posts

Most cheap-@ssed boat tachs (even the expensive cheap-@ssed ones) have a selector switch to tell the tach how many pulses equal a revolution. This selector switch cannot be sealed in lacquer like the rest of the electrical guts cause it has to be able to be switched. The contacts on this mother will oxidize and stop reliably conducting the tach signal to the coil inside the tach.