smallblock power >

smallblock power

Notices

smallblock power

Old 12-13-2004, 10:54 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default smallblock power

Hi,newbie here,Wife gave me $5,000 to buy a boat.Picked up a 1989 baja 220 sport at an auction in real good shape for $3000,350 magnum/alpha1/quicksilver 21 ss prop.
what would be the best performance mods that I could do with the remaining $2000?
I am capable of doing the work myself,just want to know what would give me the best bang for my dollar.

Thanks,
Old 12-13-2004, 11:50 AM
Registered

Default Re: smallblock power

Sorry, bad news. You can probably do quite a few SBC mods for $2K, but anything that would considerably increase top end would kill the alpha drive. Merc put out a 330hp 454/alpha package that had a habit of grenading.
My $0.02
Keep the 2K for gas, maintenence, repairs, booze, etc and enjoy the boat. Spend the time you would have taken building up the engine and use it to learn to maintain the boat, engine, drive you have.
Gary
Old 12-13-2004, 11:53 AM
chriscraft240

Ditto

Old 12-13-2004, 11:57 AM
Registered

If you just bought the boat, wait.

When you splash that puppy and get to know it a little you will find out what to spend the 2k on.

Nickel and dime stuff can eat 2k in a hurry.

Batteries
Bellows
Bilge pump
trim pump
trim rams
carb work
leaky hatch
bad transducer
plug wires
leaky cover
hub/spline
solenoids

You know what I mean. Every boat I ever bought needed more than I thought at first.
Old 12-13-2004, 11:58 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by Gary Anderson
Keep the 2K for gas, maintenence, repairs, booze, etc and enjoy the boat. Spend the time you would have taken building up the engine and use it to learn to maintain the boat, engine, drive you have.
Gary
Dam, by the time I was done typing.....
Old 12-13-2004, 12:15 PM
Registered