Question about mortgage for a large building >

Question about mortgage for a large building

Notices

Question about mortgage for a large building

Old 02-24-2007, 09:40 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about mortgage for a large building

Here's the deal, I'm looking to build a garage....a big garage....for my boat and some living space (until I get around to building my house).
In short, what I'd like to do is take out an 80K mortgage for a 42' X 72' post-frame building, septic, well, electric, and then finish off the inside with a 24' X 28' living space at my leisure (with my own money).
Well, here's the problem....all the lenders I've talked to in my area don't want to lend a mortgage for just "a garage". Please forgive my ignorance as I am new to mortgages (this will be my first), but I don't understand why this would be an issue since the property alone (that I own free and clear) is worth more than the amount I am looking to borrow.
So I guess my question is, can anyone point me in the right direction to find good financing for a garage, or am I up sh!ts creek trying to find a "garage mortgage"? Also, I am looking for a mortgage (not a personal loan) to get the low interest, long term, low monthly payment typical of a home loan.
Any help would be greatly appreciated Thanks, twinzilla
Old 02-24-2007, 10:43 AM
Registered

Received 283 Likes on 170 Posts

Get a Home Equity loan.

It sound like the bank may have misunderstood you. I am sure that if they had a lien on your house and land they would loan you the money. You can get a Home Equity Loan and do what you want with it. It doesn't matter if your building a garage or redoing a kitchen.
Old 02-24-2007, 11:51 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Are you building the building yourself?

I looked into building a Morton pole barn(45 x 45) and they offered their own finance company or at least getting you financed. Maybe check with your builder?
Old 02-24-2007, 12:34 PM
Registered