Best Engine Selection for Thor OB

Notices

Best Engine Selection for Thor OB

Old 11-19-2011, 01:31 PM
JFT
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Engine Selection for Thor OB

I would appreciate receiving your input on the best engine selection and drive for a new Thor open bow.

Starting with a 600 merc, Bravo 1X as a base, what should I expect performance wise with this engine and what increment in speed should get from an increase in HP from that point. I would prefer to use Merc engines.

I have been told to stay away from NXT drives. Your input would be appreciated on this as well.

Thanks

JF
Old 11-19-2011, 11:55 PM
Registered

I am no expert on all things Mercury Racing (yet) but I think there are a couple questions that need answering before opinions are dropped. A) How fast do you want to go? and B) How much are you willing to spend to get there? The age old speedster questions, but they make sense to me.
Old 11-21-2011, 08:03 AM
JFT
Registered

Originally Posted by Jay Gadsby
I am no expert on all things Mercury Racing (yet) but I think there are a couple questions that need answering before opinions are dropped. A) How fast do you want to go? and B) How much are you willing to spend to get there? The age old speedster questions, but they make sense to me.
Good point Jay

The Thor is such a nice, fast looking boat that it would be a shame to fork this kind of money and be disappointed by the result.

What am I looking for? I am looking for a daily driver that could hit 100 MPH and even a bit less. This is why I am not entertaining the 525HP because I am told that it will take the Thor in the low mid-eighties. Is this correct?

With this being said, I am not sure what a 600, 645 or 700SCI with a good prop will produce on this boat. I have also been told to stay away from a Dry Sump Drive.
I hope this helps. I am really looking forward to receiving some input that will help me with this decision.
Cheers
Old 11-21-2011, 09:37 AM
Registered