Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Powerquest
Considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL >

Considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL

Notices

Considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL

Old 04-28-2002, 05:04 PM
sfarrah

Default Considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL

I'm considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL with a 454 MAG EFI with 445 hours on it. I was wondering if anyone can tell me what things I should look for when I go to see it? Are there any known problems with these boats? I am new to the boating world so would appreciate any help you could offer. Also, what would be considered a reasonable price for this boat?
It does have some rips in the vinyl, estimated at $750 to repair.
The owner claims it will run 61MPH. Does this sound reasonable and is this boat too large to ski behind?
Also, if anyone has any pictures of this boat, mostly interior shots, I'd appreciate if you could email them to [email protected].
Thanks,
Sean Farrah
Attached Thumbnails Considering buying a 1995 Powerquest 257XL-257xlpowerquest.jpg  

Old 04-28-2002, 08:03 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I dont know much about the Hull. Condition would normally show abuse. But with 400+ Hours on the engine I would certainly have some one check it out, Leak down test ect. The drive should be checked too. Get some one that is qualified. If you dont know much about marine engines and drives I would highly reccomend getting someone. I made the BIG mistake of not hiring a survey done. Live and learn - a lot.
Old 04-29-2002, 07:21 AM
Member #9
Charter Member

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Sean, that boat was a very solid design. Perfect for skiing behind and plenty of power with the 454EFI. The speed you listed is very reasonable but like Ray said, make sure you hire a surveyer to go over the boat. 445 hours is getting up there without a rebuild so make sure you check it all out.