help with cruise speed

Notices

help with cruise speed

Old 01-16-2007, 01:26 PM
sandman
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with cruise speed

Boat: 1993 32' Nordic OS straight deep v hull 8000# dry weight, had 100 gals of fuel during test.

Power: (2) 622ci chevy bowtie talldecks, na , approximately 700 hp 737 ftlbs tq@ 4986rpm ea.

Drives: b1 imcos with shorty lowers lwp 1.5:1

Current props: b1 4 blade 28p

Water conditions: 12-16" chop, freshwater lake

Results: 36 mph @ 3000 rpm
62 mph @ 4000 rpm
81 mph @ 4900 rpm All readings taken with GPS

I think the top end is very respectable for an older deep v and am satisfied with that. My cruise rpm is 3000 and I want to prop it to get as much cruise speed as I can without sacrificing too much of the awesome 40-80 mph punch this boat has. This was my first run with this boat after buying it and rebuilding the engines. I'm an experienced engine builder but a novice boater. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-16-2007, 05:40 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: help with cruise speed

I would first verify your tachometers. Your slip seems to be too low. To get the speed you are seeing with your current set up I would expect you to turn about 5200-5400 rpm.

What is the goal of increasing your cruise speed? With the kind of torque your motors are putting out you will want to run as small a pitch prop as you can. That will reduce the load on the drives.
Old 01-16-2007, 06:01 PM
sandman
Gold Member

The motors seem to settle in and purr very nicely at 2900 rpm. since this is where it will spend most of its time, I would like it to move a little faster than 36 mph. If doing this will cause drive reliability issues, then Im up for suggestions.
Old 01-16-2007, 06:43 PM
Offshoreonly Advertiser
Offshoreonly Advertiser

Received 46 Likes on 13 Posts
Smile Re: help with cruise speed