22 scarab need more mph >

22 scarab need more mph

Notices

22 scarab need more mph

Old 07-26-2012, 05:06 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 22 scarab need more mph

Which prop would be good. Right now I am running a 15.50x22 pitch hydromotive. Speeds are 65ish depending on water conditions at 5200-5300 trimmed up some. I would like to not have to trim it much more then where its at. I can move this prop really easy. Motor is a 383 stroker with a 144 weiand blower. Guessing its making 450-475hp. I wanna keep the rpm's around 5-5300 or maybe alil lower. I am gonna try a 3 blade 14.50x24 pitch this weekend but I am thinking a 4 blade 25 maybe 26 would be something I would like. Is that to much?
Old 07-26-2012, 06:28 PM
Registered

It sounds like you've got plenty of Horses, but you should figure out your Torque rating before you go too big all at once. I think you're totally cool with a 24, but I'm pretty new to this so what do I know right? I do have a degree in engineering and have become quite literally Obsessed with all things "OSO". What a great site for a novice to boating like myself. I'm learning quickly, and find that my thoughts on subjects aren't far off from the Pro's on here. I'm at 67 in a Pachanga 22 with a stock 454 Mag and a 23 p Ballistic at 4900 rpms. I think your drive would get one Helluva Workout spinning a 26, what ratio is it?
Old 07-27-2012, 06:04 AM
Registered

1.5 gear in the outdrive. I know a 26 is gonna work it but it would only be me in the boat if I ran it. I always prop the boat accordingly to have much weight will be on the boat.
Old 07-27-2012, 06:16 AM
Registered