Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > Restorations & Upgrades
what to replace while motor is out? >

what to replace while motor is out?

Notices

what to replace while motor is out?

Old 01-17-2015, 08:50 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what to replace while motor is out?

I am kind of new to boating.I got out of motorcycle track days and went into boats.I traded my trackbike for a 1985 scarab 1 that needs more work then I wanted but I really love the boat! I have the motor out to repair motor mount stringers and I was wondering what to replace while its out? I know the gimble bearing,ujoint bellows ,trim sensers but I was wondering if there is a must do that I'm missing . thanks in advance,
Erik
Old 01-17-2015, 10:27 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Location: East Texas Waterfront- running errands if anyone asks
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you have already taken your motor out you are more mechanical than 70% of us here.

A little more info on your setup will get you some more interest.

Welcome to boating and welcome to OSO.
Old 01-17-2015, 11:03 PM
Registered

Received 106 Likes on 51 Posts

Replace anything you can afford that is hard to get to like bilge pump and hoses. Blower motor and hoses. Battery cables that are secured to the stringers or transom. stuf like that.
Old 01-18-2015, 12:10 AM
Registered

I asked a similar question some time ago. I had a water leak which was the freeze plug. So while one of the motors was out I replaced the bilge pumps. But beings you mentioned your boat was a 85 Scarab, I had a 86 Wellcraft and after removing and reinstalling the motor one weekend the Engine Coupler went bad. If I only knew it was going to go bad I would have replaced that part. I can only assume that yours is set up that same way.
Old 01-18-2015, 12:33 AM
Registered
Gold Member
Platinum Member

Transom gasket and upper and lower swivel pins.
Old 01-18-2015, 12:53 AM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts