Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Owners Forum > Scarab
Unknow Scarab model, modified? Who knows? >

Unknow Scarab model, modified? Who knows?

Notices

Unknow Scarab model, modified? Who knows?

Old 05-21-2018, 07:35 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Unknow Scarab model, modified? Who knows?

Dear members,

I found this boat in Doha (Qatar) and the owner told me its a Scarab 2007 thats all he knows. From the shape / line of the boat it looks like a Scarab but after spending many many hours on the internet I can not find any similar boat like this one.

Is there anybody who has any idea about the model and make year of this boat?

Many many thanks!
Martijn

Old 05-21-2018, 08:15 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1,119 Likes on 469 Posts

I'm no expert but it doesn't look 'Scarab' to me.
Bahrain and Emirates have a handful of boat builders making boats and most have originated from a better known hull from years gone by. Decks and fitouts are nothing like the well known U.S. products. Some are very good boats.

If you're thinking of buying it, don't buy it because someone says it's a Scarab, buy it because it's exactly what you want. He could be thinking 'Scarab type' but that doesn't make it a Scarab. Check it out very carefull first. Does it have a H.I.N. (Hull identification number) usually stamped into the transom on the upper starboard side? That would tell you who built it. If you're working from a few photos and haven't seen the boat, advertising in Qatar and the surrounding area is notoriously bad with innacurate text and incorrect photos.

I reckon it's a locally built Gulfcraft or similar that was possibly modelled from a Scarab. Good luck, do some more homework and let us know.

RR

Edit: Just looked at the pics again, Scarab CC's of that vintage have substantial bow flare but the pics show very little flare and it also appears to have two very small steps in the hull. Not sure that's typical Scarab either.