Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Boating by Region > Southeast US
Florida Const Jobs?? Help... >

Florida Const Jobs?? Help...

Notices

Florida Const Jobs?? Help...

Old 05-10-2011, 02:20 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Florida Const Jobs?? Help...

Due to family issues my wife is wanting to relocate to f.l. I'm a heavy equipment operator, make pretty ok $, and have been very fortunate to not be laid off in recent years. Looking for jobs and the f.l. market looks pretty soft. And the jobs available pay horrible. ANY ADVICE IS APPRECIATED. average pay? Just putting all my lines in the water before I pack up, sell my house, quit my steady job , and get stuck in the sunshine state flipping burgers! Area would be crystal river, Hollywood, Hernando.....idk
Old 05-10-2011, 02:34 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I dont want to be a downer, but I think Florida is pretty slow. I have had guys come looking for operator jobs that came back home to Michigan from Florida due to lack of work, after having been there for years. This was last season though, maybe it has started to pick up. I think the only places doing decent for operators right now are out west in in the oil fields or possibly the Middle Atlantic states. Havent heard much out of Texas, but they have jobs sometimes.
Old 05-10-2011, 02:37 PM

was gunna move my concrete constr biz to the clearwater/ tampa area and had builder work lined up on Rt 54 for the same bldr we do work down here for and even as cut throat as it is here i will leave the equipt parked b4 work for Fl rates .good luck hope things work out 4 ya
Old 05-10-2011, 02:54 PM
Registered

Construction is tough down here, and like fountianfan said it's cutthroat as you have companies putting bids in just enough to cover expenses which kills competitors if your trying to make a profit lol. Seems to happen more so with the larger firms that are just trying to keep afloat.
Old 05-10-2011, 03:01 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member