Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > Trucks, Trailers and Transportation
Ideal Garage size, cost/benefit for certain sizes. >

Ideal Garage size, cost/benefit for certain sizes.

Notices

Ideal Garage size, cost/benefit for certain sizes.

Old 07-08-2009, 09:17 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ideal Garage size, cost/benefit for certain sizes.

getting ready to have some garage plans drawn up and am wondering if there is a cost benefit for certain sizes. Ideally, I'm thinking 30 deep by 36-40' wide. 3 -car. However, was thinking it would be smarter to go 32' due to a sheet of plywood being 4' wide. that way I could pu the vette on skates in the winter and put it up front.

That said, are there other cost/benefits that I'm missing? trusses are 2' on center, so I need to stay w/ even #'s. I'm an Engineer just want to make sure I'm getting the most out of my money. I know bigger is better, but I need to keep it less than $40k (will be framing it with my contractor buddy).

thoughts?
Old 07-08-2009, 09:58 AM
CLA
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I would do a tall door on one bay with it atleast 40 feet deep. That way you can put a sport boat in there.
Old 07-08-2009, 10:34 AM
Registered

Received 79 Likes on 23 Posts

Keep in mind dimensions are done to the exterior walls, not interior. Every garage I have built turned out to be too small down the road. I keep filling them up. Go big!
Old 07-08-2009, 11:16 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Go big enough to store some of my toys for all the aggravation you cause me.
Old 07-08-2009, 01:59 PM
Z06
Registered