Notices

Let's talk wheel spacers...

Old 07-23-2010, 10:27 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Let's talk wheel spacers...

These are new to me..... I want to add 1.5" wheel spacers to the back of my 2500 Suburban so that the rear wheel stance matches the front. I am running 20x9 wheels and 285/55-20E tires. I do tow with it, so I want it to be safe.

Looking around at them has yielded several different types. What kind/style do I want???

Thx.!
Old 07-23-2010, 11:10 AM
Registered

Received 24 Likes on 12 Posts

Are you sure you measured correctly? I did this on my '01 Suburban 2500 and the spacers are 1-1/4". Mark the ground on the outside edges of your tires and measure the difference. I got my spacers from performancewheel.com and they are very heavy-duty and safe. I've been running them for almost 6 years and I tow 10,000lbs with no issues.

Old 07-23-2010, 11:15 AM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,210 Likes on 524 Posts

When I bought and ran mine a few years ago, mine were made by CorrecTrack. However, they don't make them anymore. They were steel, and they were SOLID.
Here is some info on the old ones, but the install and grinding info is still valid:
http://mrtruck.net/spacer.htm

In talking with Mark at www.lightning-motorsports.com , he has told me that he has access to and has installed a few different ones. I'd look to someone such as a shop with some experience in these parts.
Old 07-23-2010, 11:20 AM
Registered

Thx. guys!

Plum, I haven't measued at all yet, just figured 1.5s would be the ticket. I will check to be sure before I break out the plastic.
Old 07-23-2010, 11:25 AM
Registered