5 blade prop on a 280

Notices

5 blade prop on a 280

Old 02-09-2007, 10:42 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5 blade prop on a 280

Has anyone tried a 5 bladed prop on their 280? Was discussing this the other night and wondering if it would boost my cruise speed over a 4 blade.

Also my concern would be, how much more stress would that put on my bravo?
Old 02-09-2007, 12:57 PM
Registered

I am no prop expert, but I think you would need to run a shorty lower (-2" ?) to justify a 5 blade prop. Otherwise, you will have a lot more drag with the extra blade.
Old 02-09-2007, 04:55 PM
Brotherhood #1
Gold Member

Received 111 Likes on 84 Posts

shore ment to tell you im not runnin the mirgae it has the q series 4 blade and supposed to run real sweet on it but when i dip it ill let u know fully
Old 02-09-2007, 07:11 PM
Registered

I ran a 32 pitch hydromotive 5 blade but my x is 2" higher. Cruise speed is a lot better than a 4 blade but a 32 bravo is just a little faster on my boat.
Old 02-10-2007, 10:32 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

SS,
i currently run a hydro Q IV on the boat. I've run a couple sizes of Q IV's, but never a whole different prop. There is a lot of debate over which is better for this boat, the Q IV or the bravo. I guess both have their plusses and minuses. I don't really care much about losing top end if i can raise my cruise speed. 95% I'm either at cruise or idle. That 5% wide open isn't worth sacrificing the 95% to me.

has anyone run a 5 blade at the standard x dimension? I don't want to get into changing stuff around.
Old 02-10-2007, 10:45 AM
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

The 5 blade when pitched properly will bring up your cruising speed and give you much better rough water bite,just dont limit yourself to the Hydromotive,not bashing because they are good but you should look at other options,I did and the end result is a much better end result.
Old 02-10-2007, 11:20 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member