Regal Question >

Regal Question

Notices

Regal Question

Old 08-19-2011, 04:03 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Regal Question

I understand the timeline of the sale of Velocity to Regal, but what is the difference between say a 1988/89 30' Regal Velocity and the earlier ones?
Do they still have the pad and step transom?
Is the quality lesser?
Are they still capable of similar speeds and handling with similar power?

I'm fairly new to the Velocity scene and I'm searching for a 30' but I need some education here before I get to much further in my search. And I just read the whole post on Still Crazy, which is simply amazing! So I'm a little fired up right now.

Thanks
Bill
Old 08-19-2011, 08:33 PM
Registered

Received 317 Likes on 174 Posts

I " believe" it is the same hull. However..... best bet is to talk to Steve Stepp.
Old 08-20-2011, 12:37 PM
Registered

Received 86 Likes on 24 Posts

The 22' Regal Velocity and 30' Regal Velocity share the same molds as the Steve Stepp Velocitys. The 230 Regal Velocity shared the 22' hull mold but had a Regal designed Euro topdeck with molded swim platform and higher freeboard. As far as the lamination schedules..in the beginning Steve was on board with Regal. I'm not sure if lamination schedule changes were made but..from what I've been told, Steve Stepp left Regal because he wasn't satisfied with their quality. I did own a 1988 230 Regal Velocity and to this day it was one of my favorite boats!!
Old 08-21-2011, 08:31 AM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 2 Posts

I think Regal had some of the 30's made by Malestrom mfg and one other that I can't remember right now . Mold didn't change . Most people think Steve's were better , I think he takes a lot of pride in his work .

Last edited by notda1; 08-21-2011 at 06:05 PM.
Old 08-21-2011, 09:40 AM
Registered

Received 317 Likes on 174 Posts