purchase advise 260 vs 280 >

purchase advise 260 vs 280

Notices

purchase advise 260 vs 280

Old 08-17-2018, 01:14 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default purchase advise 260 vs 280

I've been boating for 50 years, and I've always been aware of Velocity, but never owned one. I rode in a couple of 22's over the years, so know about getting "up on the pad" and would like to get that feeling and efficiency in a slightly bigger boat.

I'm thinking about a (post 2000) 260 or 280. Obviously the 280 will be more comfortable in the chop, but it looks like the 260 is considerably lighter, and would be easier for me to dry store......so:

- Are there any purchase points look out specific to Velocity? (i.e transom rot, stress cracks at certain locations)
- Aside from "newer is better" are there any model year differences to be aware of? I already know about the model change with swim platform length around 2000.
- My boating will be split between ocean and lake. I'll pick my days on the ocean, trying to go out in fair weather. How do the Velocities due if I get caught off guard in some snotty seas? I've always read they do better running at speed, but how do they do in the rough if I have to throttle way down to 20-30 mph? In understand they are relatively light boats for their size, so this is not their preferred running mode.
- I'm about 6'2 and would like to be able to "camp out" in the cabin for 1 or 2 nights max. I realize these aren't cruisers, but can a 6-2" guy sleep in a 260 or a 280 v-berth?
- Realistically I'm looking at stock power, probably 496 mag or HO (must be HO in a 280)..unless a deal comes along. What speeds should I expect with a 496HO and a properly set up boat? High 60's in a 280 and low 70's in a 260?