Advice on Hull Strengthening >

Advice on Hull Strengthening

Notices

Advice on Hull Strengthening

Old 07-16-2008, 05:50 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Advice on Hull Strengthening

I have a 22 Ft. fiberglass speedboat that had rotten stringers and transom and is currently undergoing restoration. The boat is completely stripped down to bare glass, all coreing and stringers removed. My question is: Is it a good idea from a strength perspective to add a fiberglass fillet to the interior of the chine and a good idea to fill the lifting strakes with glass before I install the stringers/bulkheads? I have attached an illustration for clarity.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Advice on Hull Strengthening-boat.jpg  
Old 07-18-2008, 11:49 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not a glass expert, but if your hull originally had a core then I'd reinstall a core after the strakes were filled. I would run the new floor from side to side resting atop the stringers where your fillet comment is in the drawing. If it's an outboard boat, be sure to add large transom knees for support. Hope this helps.
Old 07-18-2008, 02:43 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Depends on the boat. If it's a chopper gun layup, you're wasting your time and money- unless you want to overlay both sides with cloth, you won't be strengthening anything regardless of what you do. And, all additional material adds weight which equals reduced performance.