Part # help please. Merc 496 >

Part # help please. Merc 496

Notices

Part # help please. Merc 496

Old 07-03-2007, 06:33 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Part # help please. Merc 496

Hi all, after much work today and allot of searches on here, I think I have narrowed down my problem on my merc 496, possibly. I am new to working on my boat so forgive me if I mess this up. My impeller burned up and was replaced today, but the boat is still doing the 2 beeps and later the one long beep going into Guardian mode. When hooked up to the computer no faults are found. After much research on here it seems that the IAC and possibly and exhaust manifold sensor has gone bad. This seems to be the info I am finding when this happens but the computer reads no faults. Does this seem like an accurate conclusion? If so I called Merc and they say it will be July 17th or later to order an IAC. I looked at BAM to order and see if they have stock, but are these the correct part numbers for a Merc 496?
IAC 862998
IAC Gasket 27-863112
Exhaust Sensor 889575

Thanks for any help offered,
Craig

Last edited by chaos4all; 07-03-2007 at 07:04 PM.
Old 07-03-2007, 07:43 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What your saying happened (Guardian mode activated with no stored code) shouldn't happen unless the PCM is bad. So I hope your mistaken.

What active faults were showing when it was scanned? Were there any inactive faults? What faults were in the Freezeframe memory?

Dave
Old 07-03-2007, 09:46 PM
Registered

I will check with the tech who ran the scan but he said there were no codes. Now I am taking his word for it and maybe he doesn't have a clue. They are a Merc certified shop so I would think that he would. Now if the IAC is bad would that show a code? I thought that I read that it wouldn't but it would cause the Guardian mode. I thought that I read the IAC diagnostic does not work correctly for some reason?