Notices

hydraulic steering

Old 09-27-2011, 07:15 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hydraulic steering

So I have a 1994 Baja and gimble plate pun is wearing out which is giving me play in the steering, I've heard to repair is will cost around 4gs. I can buy external hydraulic steering way cheaper than that, and will be a much better setup than what I have. My question is has anyone done this is it hard to do, running single outdrive. I'm a very capable weekend mechanic, but this seems like it could be smuggle over my head.
Old 09-27-2011, 07:24 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 122 Likes on 77 Posts

Originally Posted by tony2times
So I have a 1994 Baja and gimble plate pun is wearing out which is giving me play in the steering, I've heard to repair is will cost around 4gs. I can buy external hydraulic steering way cheaper than that, and will be a much better setup than what I have. My question is has anyone done this is it hard to do, running single outdrive. I'm a very capable weekend mechanic, but this seems like it could be smuggle over my head.
I think if your gimbal ring is already worn, you are going to need to fix it. I once had a single ram add-on system and my gimbal was worn. It still created a dangerous situation. When I accelerated hard, the boat would pull to the star. side. Once my gimbal ring was repaired, the problem went away.

Also, it didn't cost anywhere near 4K to replace the gimbal ring.
Old 09-27-2011, 10:07 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Im aslo need to replace the gimble ring and pin. Im an automotive mechanic for years and was also wondering if this is something that can be done at the house to save money? I know theres a couple of holes that have to be drilled at the top of the gimble housing and then plugged after work in done Im assming this is to gain access to a bolt or a pin of some kind? Any help would be appreciated thanks so much.
Old 09-27-2011, 11:11 AM
BUP
Banned