what kind of drive    DIESEL >

what kind of drive DIESEL

Notices

what kind of drive DIESEL

Old 10-07-2011, 09:02 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what kind of drive DIESEL

ive been reading this form for a bit now but just became a member. i see that all of you are quite knowledgeable and was wondering if you could teach me the way of the force.

i see a lot posted about the merc #6 and the 1000hp rating on it but im think of another set-up.

i want to use a Cummins diesel that is in the 600hp but about 1500fpt. is there any kind of set-up that could both handle the torque and still provide good speed (proper gearing)

mind you i am new to this so plzzz use lame's terms

great thanks to any help or ideas
Old 10-07-2011, 10:58 PM
Registered

Received 278 Likes on 97 Posts

Arneson.

But it sounds like you want to custom build a boat using a modified truck cummins? We all would love that set up! Just does not work that way. Sorry. Correct me if I am wrong and no hard feelings.
Old 10-07-2011, 11:03 PM
Registered

yes thats it exactly. plz tell me why something like that wouldnt work? remember im new to this and would love to know the rules of boat building
Old 10-08-2011, 06:43 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There was a ski boat with a Duramax in it. Set up for marine use the guy never saw less than 1600ºF EGTS while on plane and up to 1800-1900ºF while WOT, and it was only at relatively stock power levels. This might be acceptable for 1 second or less, but not for miles and miles on end. It will take a fair bit of work to actually get the EGTs to an acceptable level, especially on a tuned out diesel. You would have to get cut and coated pistons, lower the compression, different (inconel) valves, probable change the cam, and completely rework the cooling system to handle raw water or set up closed cooling.