Awlcraft2000 vs Awlgrip >

Awlcraft2000 vs Awlgrip

Notices

Awlcraft2000 vs Awlgrip

Old 10-25-2019, 04:41 PM
Platinum Member

Received 134 Likes on 80 Posts
Default Awlcraft2000 vs Awlgrip

Never been happy with the job done on my deck (only) after the massive resto/rebuild and am seriously thinking of re-doing it. I've got plenty of regular Awlgrip experience under my belt but now have the option of using Awlcraft2000.
I know that the main difference between the two is that only the 2000 is 'repairable' but does anyone have any real life experience in terms of one's durability versus the other ?
The sun out here is brutal and if one is better than the other it would help me in my choice .
Old 10-26-2019, 10:35 AM
Registered

Received 597 Likes on 242 Posts

We completely stripped top to bottom and redid my buddies 43 choey lee sailboat 7’years ago in Florida. The guy that headed the painting Swore Awlcraft was the Chit Said he been spraying it since it came out.

6 years later in the Florida sun it still looks like the day we sprayed it. It lays out real nice and the price is quite a bit less than Awlgrip.
The following users liked this post:
SB (08-03-2020)
Old 10-26-2019, 11:15 AM
Platinum Member

^^ Does that include the deck as well ?
I don't have a problem with how the hulls hold up with regular Awgrip , it's the decks that take the real licks. There was a small runabout out here that had a total Awlgrip job about 34 years ago. The hull was yellow , of all colors , and the boat was seemingly abandoned after it was finished. That hull still looks like it was just sprayed yesterday .
If there is a nice price difference between the two over here I'd be very surprised.
A long time back when Interlux introduced their 2 part high end paint system the local supplier couldn't give it away as good as it was. So what did he do ? He jacked the price up to meet or exceed Awlgrip and it started flying off the shelves !
Old 10-27-2019, 11:05 AM
Registered