General Formula Questions

Notices
Formula

General Formula Questions

Old 08-02-2009, 10:11 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General Formula Questions

Just to get this out of the way: I'm nearly a complete newbe to powerboats, so please bare with me.

I've been looking at moving up in boat size for a while (Had numerous ski boats and runabouts for past decade) and with the current market on these boats I think its a good time to do it. After looking around online and reading everything i can find, I've almost settled on a late 80's early 90's 357

I'm not looking for a 70+ mph boat, but somthing that will move when prodded, will handle rougher waters at speed and still has enough room to spend the weekend camping on with a couple close friends.

Beyond the basics, What should I be looking for specific to these boats? I'll have a survey done before I purchase one, but want to be confident in it before hand.

What can I expect above and beyond for upkeep, ect?

Also, if anyone in the AZ area wouldnt mind me taking a look at one I would really appreciate it.

Last edited by dues201; 08-02-2009 at 10:25 PM.
Old 08-03-2009, 08:16 PM
Charter Member #232
Charter Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

What is your budget? Location that you boat? Have you ever driven a larger boat? With Twins?
Old 08-03-2009, 08:36 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 366 Likes on 245 Posts

my formula 35-7 gets the job done on what you are talking about. biiiiig cockpit, rooooom for my family of 5 in the cabin, waves crusher, and unfortunatly not a 70 plus mph boat, but who cares, I'm cruising 35-40 95% of time anyway!

I'm in a 30 foot cruiser tonight, twin 4.3 liter engine. Big cabin but so weak on power! I'd trade the cabin room for a more comfortable ride like my 35-7. I'm looking to change but can't find another go fast that gives me as much room inside, except maybe 42 sonic...