Could you build a Carbon Fiber Trailer? >

Could you build a Carbon Fiber Trailer?

Notices

Could you build a Carbon Fiber Trailer?

Old 04-16-2013, 06:28 PM
Mod Squad Enforcer
Charter Member

Received 795 Likes on 258 Posts
Default Could you build a Carbon Fiber Trailer?

Given that some of our boating brothers believe in over-the-top type things, why hasn't anyone built a CF or composite trailer?

I realize that the suspension etc might need to remain aluminum or steel, but couldn't the frame, bunk rails and winch tower be done? Wouldn't it prolong life in saltwater areas and also provide a much lighter platform to tow with? Would you be able to make it so that the suspension/wheel system was modular and could be swapped out for rebuild or maintenance?

I'm a Realtor, not an engineer, so I just wondered why it hadn't been done.

Flame away....
Old 04-16-2013, 06:38 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

yes you can, but the cost would be horrible (maybe not for some). leaf springs for certain applications are carbon and have been for some time. the union of carbon and metal is also possible as well. so axle beams and wheel hubs could be joined. one problem with carbon would be direct sunlight.....it doesnt fare well in it and salt water combined with the sun would have another effect on it.

However, you could wrap carbon over thin walled aluminum (rectangular tubing) for frame rails. it could then be drilled with less chance of fraying or fracture.
Old 04-16-2013, 06:56 PM
Registered

Received 49 Likes on 33 Posts

it would probably float away at the ramp....
Old 04-16-2013, 07:18 PM
Registered

Received 29 Likes on 6 Posts

It could be done, however any damage to the surface coating would have to repaired immediately. So scraping a ramp could be catastrophic. However, anyone with enough money to build a cf trailer is probably craning their boat into the water.
Old 04-16-2013, 07:51 PM
Registered

Received 1,819 Likes on 711 Posts

Great idea.