Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Wellcraft Excalibur 45 any pros - cons? >

Wellcraft Excalibur 45 any pros - cons?

Notices

Wellcraft Excalibur 45 any pros - cons?

Old 03-31-2020, 04:24 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Wellcraft Excalibur 45 any pros - cons?

I really like the lines and cabin layout. Just closed on a house in Punta Gorda, so a boat is the next logical step.
Old 03-31-2020, 07:38 PM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post

Congratulations on your new home! You'll certainly get well acquainted with now during club quarantine!

As for the Excalibur, I am no expert, however, maybe this could help? Wellcraft Excalibur 45 and 47 Differences?

There seems to be some very nice models in that category, perhaps the Fountain could be in an option, as that, at least, has a stepped hull.
Old 03-31-2020, 08:01 PM
Registered

They're nice cruisers. I do prefer a Sundancer aesthetically or a similar Formula SS or PC.

Better yet, look at some Sunseekers.
Old 03-31-2020, 08:36 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 37 Likes on 24 Posts

They were all built by Riviera in Australia. I've spent quite a lot of time on the Aussie version (called a Riviera) and they're great boats. By OSO standards, they aren't fast. The one I used to go on was wet stored and antifouled, 502's and Bravo 3's. Always kept clean and bottom fresh, top speed mid-high 40's with a moderate load.

Good wave crushers, they are a big heavy boat and at slower speeds, around 25 mph, the waterline length will carve through some very rough water.

Sea Ray (mentioned above) is also great. I owned a 410 Sundancer and comparing the two boats, the Sea Ray top speed was 30 mph and cruise at 24 with Cat diesels. Bigger beam, masses of room on board and would stick the bow up a bit and just push through anything. Sunseeker, also mentioned above are lovely. Spent time on a 62' and it was a lot like the Riviera only much bigger. So was the price!